Welcome to the Florida Vascular Society

The Florida Vascular Society was established in 1988 to promote the science and art of the diagnosis and management of Vascular Disease and encourage research and education in the field. The FVS Annual Scientific Sessions are designed to provide of comprehensive education to update participants on current research, techniques, and therapies pertaining to vascular disorders.


Announcing the Candidates for Open Positions

The FVS Nominating Committee recommends the following candidates for the following open positions to the FVS membership:

  • President-Elect: Libby Watch, MD, FACS
  • Treasurer: Shonak Patel, MD, FACS

Elections will occur on Saturday, April 29, 2023 during the Annual Business Meeting.


Latest Member Newsletter

The FVS is excited to announce its new newsletter. Be sure to read the latest edition.

Read Spring 2023 Newsletter

Elected Officers for 2022–2023

President: Santiago H. Chahwan, MD, FACS
President Elect: Murray L. Shames, MD, FACS
Treasurer: Libby S. Watch, MD, FACS
Secretary: S. Scott Tapper, MD, FACS
Immediate Past President: Thomas S. Huber, MD, PhD, FACS
Councilor (North): Sara Clark, MD
Councilor (South): Arash Bornak, MD, FACS
Councilor (Southwest): Inky Parrack, MD, FACS
Councilor (Central): Jon Wesley, MD, FACS


2022 Scientific Session Award Winners

The 2022 Florida Vascular Society Scientific Sessions featured 25 outstanding original contributions. Congratulations to the award winners:

Jose “Pepe” Alvarez, Jr., MD Resident Award: Awarded for the best overall abstract and oral presentation for clinical or experimental work performed by residents of fellows in training:

  • Morgan Cox, MD, Gainesville, FL

Dr. JJ Karmacharya Award: Awarded for the best abstract and oral presentation in aortic aneurysmal disease reconstruction and treatments:

  • Antoine Ribieras, MD, Miami, FL

Mark L. Friedell, MD Award: Awarded for the Best Medical Student Abstract and Oral Presentation:

  • Coulter Small, MS3, Gainesville, FL