Excellence in Teaching

Excellence in Teaching Award


Russell H. Samson, MD, FACS • Florida State University Medical School • Sarasota Vascular Specialists

2018 Inaugural Year

The first recipient of the Excellence in Teaching Award, given to an FVS member who has displayed dedication to teaching, is Dr. James Dennis. Dr. Dennis completed General Surgery Residency and Vascular Surgery Fellowship at Loyola University and joined the faculty at the University of Florida in Jacksonville in 1998. He is board certified in General Surgery, Vascular Surgery, and Critical Care and has extensive research and publications on vascular trauma IVC filters and vascular access. He has also been honored throughout his teaching career receiving the best teaching faculty 1988 through 1991; Thaddeus Moseley Award for Teaching Excellence 1997, 1998, 2000; and best surgical rotation every year from 1989 through 2014, except 1993. He has had 19 general surgery residents go into vascular surgery fellowship programs including Irfan Imami, practicing in Melbourne; Anthony Avino, practicing in Savannah, GA, who completed his fellowship at USF and is the immediate past president of GVS; and Dr. Hertz, the immediate past president of FVS 2017.