Friedell Award

The Mark L. Friedell, MD, Award


This award recognizes the contribution of medical student presentations for their ongoing research projects, areas of clinical interest and case presentations at the Florida Vascular Society’s Annual Scientific Sessions.

We honor Mark L. Friedell, MD, FACS, by naming this award in his memory, in grateful appreciation for his many contributions and leadership of the Florida Vascular Society. Dr. Friedell was a Past President and a founding member of FVS and dedicated to educating medical students, residents and fellows in the field of vascular surgery. This award has been made possible through generous contributions from the Florida Vascular Foundation.


Kelsey N. Franklin
University of Miami
Miller School of Medicine
Miami, FL

Dr. Dennis awarded Kelsey for her presentation Mortality and Unrecognized Readmissions Following Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm Repair: Conclusions from a National Analysis.


Benjamin A. Eslahpazir
University of Central Florida
Orlando, FL

Dr. Russell Samson awarded Mr. Eslahpazir for his presentation A Lumped-Parameter Computational Model Shows Mild Inflow Disease—Does Not Require Hybrid Revascularization During Placement of the Femorofemoral Bypass.

2017 Inaugural Winner


Abdullah Abou-Samra University of South Florida Tampa, FL For his presentation Reduction in Post-operative Opiates after Opiate-free Anesthesia.